‘Everybody Matters, Every Moment Counts’

Telephone: 01229 462814

Askam Village School Governing Body

The Governing Body has two committees which feed into the full governors. The pupils, curriculum and community committee is one; Dr. John Thompson is the chair of this committee. Councillor Ben Shirley is the chair of the finance, premises and personnel committee.

1 x Head Teacher Governor
2 x Partnership Governors
1 x Staff Governor
2 x Co-Opted Governors
2 x Parent Governors
1 x LA Governor

The role of the governing board is essential to the effectiveness of a school.

School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools.  The role of the governing board supports the headteacher and staff by positively promoting the work of the school, celebrating its achievements and working to ensure the best outcomes for pupils.

The Governing Body has three core functions:

  • Ensuring the clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

Each individual governor and any associate member(s) form the governing board, which is established in law as a corporate body.  This means that individual governors and associate members do not act independently of the rest of the governing board.  All decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing board.


The Governing Body has the power to delegate certain of its duties to appointed committees. The structure and membership of these committees is agreed by the Governing Body.

The committees are responsible for doing the majority of the leg-work of the Governing body. Each committee is run by a Chair and the Headteacher sits on each of the committees.

Meetings are minuted so that their business and any decisions reached can be fed back in detail to the following meeting of the Full Governing Body. Committee meetings are quorate when three governors (which can include the Headteacher) are in attendance.

Askam Village School has two committees.

Finance, Premises and Personnel

Mr. Ben Shirley – Chair of committee

Mrs. Megan Pattinson

Mr. David Huddleston

Mr. Jon Borgia

Mrs. Fiona Newton

Pupils. Curriculum and Community

Dr. John Thompson – Chair of committee

Mrs. Sarah Biggins

Mrs. Elisabeth Donachie

Mrs. Fiona Newton



Contact Details

01229 462814



Askam Village School
Lots Road
LA16 7DA

About Us

At Askam Village School the health, safety and well-being of all our children are of paramount importance to all the adults who work here.


The best for every pupil; commitment to every pupil; inspiration for all.